Wooden Letters

Reading this weeks writing challenge I found myself nodding along thinking of how often I struggle to start writing due to having too many things to write about… Often resulting in a blog blowout.

Wooden Letter

Wooden Letter

Looking around me I see one object in particular which hits a nerve, it’s sentimental, it’s relevant… It has a blog-worthy story to go with it…Hanging on my living room wall are a pair of wooden “S” letters. They are painted ivory, each hung by a navy blue ribbon and covered with scribbles in blue “sharpie” ink – classy or what?

A year and a half ago – almost to the day- it was our wedding day. The colour scheme was navy blue and ivory -The navy to match my husbands military dress blues and the traditional ivory to match my dress – which was chosen purely because it looked nicer with the navy.

Due to the logistics, timing and finances linked to a fast wedding involving two people with family in different countries we chose to have no family – just friends at our wedding. 9 to be exact; 3 whom I had known previously, 5 of his friends whom I had met the same night as I met my husband-to-be and 1 whom had asked the awkward “so are you … like… official… or….?” A little further down the line.

Wedding Kiss

Wedding Kiss

The service was at the local registry office -in a pink room which totally ruined my colour scheme!- followed by a pre-ordered meal at our favourite restaurant. The night before, my girls and I had set the table with home-made decorations, center-pieces and name tags… Finishing it off with our wooden S letters… One on the back of my chair and one on the back of my husband-to-be. Together they signified our first names AND (post-wedding) our surname too. We would now both be “SS”

After the meal the letters were passed around the table and signed by the few guests we had – Somehow we managed to avoid the profanities they threatened to write and instead ended up with some kind- but mostly strange and funny sentiments which are now a part of our home, moving with us wherever we go – even if the people that wrote them aren’t.

It’s having familiar things -like these wooden letters- that usually makes a house feel more like a home. But as I sit here I can’t help but feel sad because I miss them. Physical distance aside I miss the friendships, I miss how things were at that moment in time. Many of them moved away with the military, some just grew apart while others sparked deeper relationships. Things change, people change… Life goes on.

The other one...

Personalised Wooden Letter

These letters remind me of a moment in time, it’s immortalized in them through the writing, in the photos and the memories themselves. At the time we were just there -in the moment- but now we are actually living the parts we had previously swept over. The moving away from anything or anyone you know…the intense flash-in-the-pan friendships that feel more like a ‘holiday romance’ just because we all happen to be in the same place at the same time…the realization that these bittersweet letters aren’t a one off…that this will happen time and time again…that real relationships will be very few and far between – and even then there’s a good chance one of us will have to say goodbye and move on…

They remind me of how things were but also of how things can be. I’ve been anxious about meeting people here. I’m Sure you can imagine the idea of making an effort with people whom probably won’t be here for long doesn’t really motivate me to get out there but these letters signify just that. That even though I may not make many friendships that will last a lifetime … I will absolutely make memories that will.

Other Entries for this weeks challenge (If this works)

  1. My Favourite Thing | So Here’s Us…
  2. My Full Circle of the Personal Analysis Bureau | Ever Upward
  3. Haiku Trio | A Full Cup of Tea
  4. The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York | Forgotten Correspondance
  5. Post-it-Note | The Shady Tree
  6. Frying Pans And A Knife | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  7. Object of Connection | Through The Eyes Productions
  8. An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words
  9. tattered pages | from dreams to plans
  10. These Boots Are Made For Working | Finale to an Entrance
  11. Do It Everyday? | davidriswanto
  12. My treasured trinket | tornin2’s Blog
  13. OBJECT OF DESIRE | Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner
  14. New Socks Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  15. Pinwheel in motion | Emovere
  16. Objectively Cooking | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
  17. My camera | Scent of Rina
  18. Doing the dishes | MoreThanMelts
  19. Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan
  20. Far from Eden | field of thorns
Categories: Writing Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Wooden Letters

  1. Lovely piece Sophie, shows you are wholly back where you belong. That year has gone by, sometimes slowly, sometimes hectic, and your blog(s) makes me feel that we have shared a little of that journey together. In a nutshell, that’s what good blogging is all about, and what it should be.
    As ever, Pete. XX

  2. I found this profoundly moving; I’m glad I’ve ‘met’ you, albeit online. Thank you for sharing something that I am sure will strike a chord with many others who come across your blog or have the pleasure of meeting you in person. X

    • Thank you squarebird – I’m glad I’ve “met” you too 🙂 I had to re-write some parts as the different emotions kept confusing me the more I thought about it. I got angry and ranted, I got upset and blubbed a little… I ended up giving up on it and taking a break vowing to scrap the whole idea before it became a 3-part drama ha ha. It seems stepping back worked. It got me really thinking about how they made me feel or how they COULD make me feel if I were to look at things in a positive way. – I feel a little lighter today 🙂 x

  3. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  4. Live in the moment! I mean, what else can we do? And, some friendships can fade regardless of whether people move away or not. The ones that stay through thick and thin were worth all the work. And then you can always have some of your best memories with people you never see again. Bizarre world we live in. 🙂

    • Absolutely – like my best friend once pointed out after a fall out with a flash-in-the-pan friend “some friends are just meant for different things”. It was such an obvious thing to say and yet It had never occurred to me before. Some friends ARE great at hanging out and drinking but disappear when you need a heart to heart. Others are great listeners but don’t have the time or energy for wild nights out… Having both is fine but it’s realising that that is the important bit 🙂

  5. Aww, such a good post. Sophie. My husband was in the Army for 20 years stationed in VA, Germany, Japan and finally PA. He fortunately did make some lifelong friends that he’s still in contact with. One of them just recently moved into our area and they’ve been reunited. I’m certain that you’ll meet some people that you’ll stay in close contact with. I know it’s not quite the same as having your buddies there everyday. I can tell you have a very fun personality and am certain you’ll have no shortage of friends no matter where you go. Remember, you’ll always have your blogging buddies!

    • Thank you 🙂 It was a moment like this that prompted me to start blogging a few years back (I closed that blog but anyway) when I moved from where I considered home to a new place and felt isolated and blogging was a good escape. It was there that I first met BeetleyPete – see comments above- among others and it made such a difference. There will be more friends, I know there will and this blog has already made me feel so much more ‘welcome’ when in reality I’ve felt quite lost. Thanks for visiting 🙂

  6. I can totally relate. I was in the same situation (only opposite!) when I moved to the UK. Sometimes I really missed the easy socializing that came from people who shared my cultural background. But I made some great friends there and even though it took a while to settle in, I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

    • That’s good to know – that you know how I’m feeling AND that you made friends 🙂 I’m sure with every move it will get easier (just humour me on that OK?) but I’m sure I’ll meet some interesting characters along the way – for the long haul or otherwise, it’s still an experience 🙂

  7. Your wedding sounds wonderful. Navy blue and ivory, what a beautiful choice. I love the last paragraph especially about how memories are universal and can be enjoyed and treasured for their own sake.

  8. Great memories! These are the memories we should cherish them foerever! Thanks for the pingback!
    Hugs!

    • Absolutely 🙂 Thanks for stopping by – I have to admit I haven’t been to yours yet but plan to spend some time working my way down my list of links when I have enough time to read and enjoy them properly 🙂 I look forward to it 🙂

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  10. That’s a wonderful experience shared and loved your navy blue and ivory theme for your wedding.

  11. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  12. Pingback: Miss Neglected | dandelionsinwind

  13. Lovely post, thank you for sharing.
    Pepper

  14. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  15. Pingback: What’s in a name? | British Chick Across The Pond

  16. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

  17. Pingback: Thank you Thank you Thank you :) | British Chick Across The Pond

  18. Pingback: A.E.I.Love U! Decoupage Letters ( <— Check ME out) | British Chick Across The Pond

  19. Pingback: Something (Navy) Blue | British Chick Across The Pond

Say what you think

Blog at WordPress.com.

