Crafty Blogger

As you may know I’ve signed up for a monthly craft swap with some local crafty people – some vague details on that blogged here.

Well when I joined I did explain (to them) that I am in no way, shape or form an expert… Or that good lol but what I didn’t realise is that most of these people do their crafting for more than just a hobby. Many sell their items- some locally, some internationally! Some have actual walk-in shops and some display theirs at a local gallery….

I wish I had known that before I made that valentines sauce-bottle-vase which, if you need reminding, is blogged here *cringe* For the record THIS is the craft I was given in return…it’s gorgeous! It’s sealed… It even has glass… But most of all it’s not made from an old ranch dressing bottle. Even my husband -who doesn’t DO crafty- was impressed, He took one look and said “Are we erm… hanging that in the guest room….you know…hide the competition?” * sad face *

https://www.facebook.com/PinsandNeedlesPrimitivesLLC?fref=ts <_ hopefully this link works

Click the image to visit her (crafty) facebook page

I think I’m in over my head here! The closest I’ve ever been to having a “Sophie Original” commissioned was when my mother gave me £20 to buy paint and a canvas to do one for her friend (and she let me keep the change)- it turned out ok but a one off isn’t going to pay the bills lol. I don’t do crafting for a living, I do it because it relaxes me and because I’m too cheap to buy wall art for my house.

The theme for March is Mardi Gras – again my thoughts on this are blogged here– and I upped my game a little…

Let the good times roll

Let the good times roll

Before you say it I had already stocked up on wooden frames before I received her swap item so I’m in no way trying to compete in the painted frame industry. It’s not a masterpiece but hey I like it. It’s on theme, it didn’t break the bank… It’s got ACTUAL GLASS…and I used sealant this time which – for me- is pushing the boat out. Above all I enjoyed making it … Isn’t that the point?

Categories: Crafty Chick | Tags: , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Crafty Blogger

  1. You certainly give me a run for my money…hopelessly NOT crafty!

  2. Looks good to me Sophie. Well well done, is the Pete verdict! Don’t sell yourself short. We know how artistic you are, you just need to get your ‘craft mojo’ back.
    As ever, Pete. XX

  3. I’m so not crafty, but I covet what other people can make. Color me impressed 😛

  4. Pingback: Girls Night Out | British Chick Across The Pond

  5. Pingback: 3 steps to world domination | British Chick Across The Pond

Say what you think

Blog at WordPress.com.

