What’s in a name?

sophie
Sophie means Wisdom

The meaning of Sophie is “wisdom” – try and keep the howls of laughter to a minimum please. Anyone who knows me will agree that this is NOT the best word to describe me, in fact classy and demure would suit me better – and THAT’S saying something…

But I guess it depends on what we think of when we hear the word “wisdom”.

flashback

I’m the one on the left….

Back in school my maths teacher would joke about the meaning of my name in relation to my ability (or inability) to recite the times tables or do long division; some of my friends would give me THAT pat on the shoulder or head whenever I pulled another “soph-esque” face palm moment and I had plenty of dumb blonde jokes thanks to my original hair colour (yes I WAS a natural blonde) 

Of course all of the above was said and done in jest, many were friends whom knew me well enough to know I could easily shrug it off and laugh at myself when I did something silly… But when you hear something enough it kind of becomes part of normality, you almost buy into the jokes and for me, without meaning to, it became negative. Somewhere down the line people thought it was ok to say to me how they thought I “played up” my stupidity but the truth is I’m NOT THAT CLEVER. My geography sucks big time, history and politics makes me glaze over and currently my knowledge of any world events is courtesy of my Facebook or Twitter feeds but that’s not wisdom is it? That’s knowledge and you know what? It just doesn’t interest me, I know it should, I try to stay informed but no matter how much crap that’s thrown at me it refuses to stick.

wisdom

Wisdom

 Looking back it seems I clung to the negativity and completely misinterpreted what my name really meant. Wisdom isn’t all about knowing the facts, even if it was I still came out with GCSEs, A-Levels and a BAHons (albeit in fashion – again stop laughing lol) but it’s is more about experience, common sense and good judgement. And really it seems – at least to others- that that was me all over. My friends were only allowed to go to school parties if I was going because if I was there it meant there was “at least one responsible one” (don’t ask where their parents got this idea from lol) I was the younger but more “down to earth”, “logical” and “level headed” sister who wound up her older one because my curfew was later regardless of the 5yr age gap; I’ve been told to consider becoming a policewoman due to my perceptiveness and rationale, or a counsellor thanks to my understanding and insight….

And then I go and throw a spanner in the works by getting pregnant whilst in the early stages of “dating” someone (if you can call it that) or I marry someone after “knowing” them for 6 short months… Or I “drag my son away from his dad” to live in another country with my new husband…. And all of those things are crazy! … But I did them, and my friends and family supported me… Because guess what? Because they know me, they know my situation and they know I have it covered.

the meaning of wisdom

The meaning of Wisdom
Screen grab courtesy of http://www.Google.com

They know I would have considered every outcome, they trust that I have thought things through… That I’ve done my homework, that I’ve got options and fall back plans… And they’re right! It’s not because I’m a pessimist, it’s because I have learned from my past experience. I have learnt that things don’t always go to plan, that curveballs are thrown and you just have to take them as they come; I’ve learned that even after years of “knowing someone” they can still break your heart or shock you in ways you never dreamed of… That life is short, that it’s better to have taken a leap of faith than to ALWAYS wonder “what if” when it’s too late.

Babies, marriage, international moves… They’re all kind of a big deal and yet for me all three of them happened unexpectedly. All three threw me completely but I took them in my stride and welcomed their life lessons. Of course I’m not claiming to be overflowing with wisdom – though I wouldn’t blame you for thinking that after reading my recent guest post on the subject ;)… but in reality I still have a LOT to learn. What I do know is that I’m much stronger than I thought I was; I’m adaptable and less “set in my ways” than I used to think, I’m open minded, understanding and I trust myself…but most of all I have learned that I’m NOT stupid… Just don’t make me take a test to prove that 😉

 
Categories: Writing Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Wisdom is something we develop, usually as a result of making errors of judgement, or what others may choose to call ‘mistakes’. It is always easy to be wise retrospectively, but age and experience has taught me not to assume wisdom, as something will always come along, to show me that I wasn’t as wise as I thought.
    My name means ‘The Rock’ or ‘Stone’, apparently. Can’t say I feel especially rocky or stony, but I am dependable I suppose, if you take it as meaning that.
    I have no doubt of your wisdom Sophie, as it comes from hard experiences.
    As ever, Pete. XX

    • Thanks Pete – I would HOPE my experience has taught me something that wont come back and bite me lol. Definitely something that is developed and evolved more and more over time. Trial and error 😉 And for what it’s worth, I agree with your name – not necessarily THE rock as I think of that awful leathery man but you’re definitely one of mine 🙂 xx

  2. Please tell me what is wrong with a BA Hons in fashion – I see that as no laughing matter: give yourself a pat on the back Sophie and tell yourself ‘well one’… the shoe drawing you sent me was lovely ( I’ d buy the shoes, but confess I wouldn’t be able to wear them THAT high! Lol!). X

    • You’re right SB – though to be fair that specific course at that specific uni was atrocious lol I’m genuinely not proud of the subject I took, I would like to say it was worth it because I enjoyed it but I really didnt :/ BUT I am proud that I did it and saw it through 🙂 btw I can’t wear heels that high either 😉 x

  3. “That life is short, that it’s better to have taken a leap of faith than to ALWAYS wonder “what if” when it’s too late.” – AMEN SISTER. Are we the same person?

  4. I love the name Sophie. I always said that I’d name my next daughter that. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a next daughter! I did name my cat Sophie, though, and she’s very, very wise. She knows how to trick me into feeding her after my husband already has!
    It seems to me that you’re pretty wise, and very brave! I’m glad you linked to your guest post! 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I know of a few animals named Sophie, I didn’t always like my own name but now I think it suits me, I like how swirly it is to write it 🙂

  5. You should totally link this up to this week’s wordpress daily post writing challenge. The topic was all about names. The editors pick their favorites and then “freshly press” them. It’s a great way to get your blog out there! And I think you’re very wise 😉

    • 🙂 I think it is already linked to the writing challenge – it’s meant to be anyway so I’ll double check 😉 and thanks c

      • I thought maybe it was, but I didn’t see the link in your post. I’m sorry. I even read it a couple times. Maybe I just missed it. It’s a great post and I figured it would be a really weird coincidence otherwise. Sorry if I just read over it!

        • Ha ha that’s fine, no I don’t see it on here either – it’s the first time I’ve only done a track back thing in the edit-post bit so perhaps it didn’t work

          • Hmm, did you see your link appear on the list of pingbacks on the prompt page?

            • Nope I just checked and it says it’s all done on my dashboard but it’s not on the challenge post …so I left a link on there and hopefully that will work 🙂 Thanks for mentioning it

            • No problem. I think if you don’t link it initially, it has trouble with the pingback. I’ve heard people have the same problem if they go back and add the link as an edit to an existing post. I hope it works out. It’s a good post. If they freshly press it your blog goes nuts!

            • I did link it initially and funnily enough it’s the first time I’ve used the track back box and the first time it’s not worked 😉 oh well I’m sure I’ll work out the kinks 🙂

Say what you think

Blog at WordPress.com.

