POW she’s back in the game  

Recently I opted in to a promotional “thing” set up by Cody of Lu & Ed . Cody sends out “swag bags” to existing customers. These bags contain samples from various other businesses -namely crafty ones who focus on items for children. It’s a sweet way of thanking the customers but also a great opportunity to get other small businesses out there, so I decided to go for it.

Most of my items are custom orders and for a while I’ve been wanting to branch out so I can turn up to craft fairs and events armed with ready-made British Chick items rather than a pen and paper to take orders (It’s on the resolutions list – well maybe not THAT list but shhh)

Superheros are always a hit...right?

Superheros are always a hit…right?

Being set the task of making 25 samples forced me to think about what kind of ready-made item I could work on.

I had shown Cody this canvas an example of what I do. Immediately she suggested mini versions saying POW or “BAM” Duh! How obvious! What better way to sample my painting than with a tiny painting? And what kid doesn’t like superheroes?

I set to work on them and managed to make some stupid mistakes along the way which longed out the process massively – for example:

  • I used basic acrylic paint despite knowing that outdoor paint has much better coverage – this meant painting each one 2 or 3 times
  • I painted Dark Blue strips before Red even though I know blue is going to be harder to cover up -and I would need to cover it up
  • I underestimated just how many paint pens I would need and about had a breakdown when Walmart ran out of stock
Super Fridge Magnets

Super Fridge Magnets

However, I also had a “yay” moment when I realised that with the simple addition of some magnetic tape these bad boys are not just mini canvases any more – they’re kick-ass fridge magnets Whoop Whoop! 🙂

After what feels like a lifetime (in reality about one week) I’ve finished 🙂 It’s definitely been a challenge and an experience where my feelings about them changed by the day – if not by the minute. Now they’re done I love them

I’ll be sending them off shortly and keeping my fingers crossed that the stranger I’ve entrusted them with does something other than sell (or set fire to) them – Wish me luck 🙂

Here are some photos of the process

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Crafty Chick | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “POW she’s back in the game  

  1. Good work Sophie, it’s like a small factory production line. You are learning valuable lessons for the future too, so no real downside. (Except the cost of all the materials) I look forward to hearing how this venture goes.
    As ever, Pete. XX

  2. Really liking those! Thanks for the ping!

  3. Love it. And every project always takes a hundred more steps and supplies than you think! Thanks for the reminder that it isn’t just me that this happens to. 😉

    • 🙂 absolutely. I’ve been working on something else this week and it’s already taken a good few days more than I’d planned *rolls eyes* I think from now on I’ll add a few days onto any “quick project” 🙂

  4. Pingback: What’s love got to do with it? | British Chick Across The Pond

Say what you think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

