What’s love got to do with it?

Recently I made some superhero / comic themed magnets (made from mini canvas) for a promotional doo-dah. Their fate (and box) has been sealed and it’s now in the hands of USPS.

Last night I sat bolt upright in bed as the realization hit me – I forgot to sign them 😦 usually I sign the bottom right corner, I had also planned to stick mini “British Chick” stickers on the back of each one but forgot to do that too. Each magnet is in an individual bag with a business card so my information is there but I would have preferred something that would stay on them as a permanent claim and way to tell who made them (and where to order more) you live and you learn I suppose.

Valentine Collection :)

Valentine Collection 🙂

Those canvases inspired a Valentine collection, with Love hearts, burlap, the lot. I even dug out an old embossing set I was slightly obsessed with about 10 years ago. You stamp “glue” onto card, sprinkle with metallic powder & heat with a mini hair dryer type contraption– of course the UK plug/voltage was an issue but thanks to my converter I got there in the end (Even if it was a painfully slow process)

I made them in 2 sizes and each one is different. This time I used Modge Podge – basically a stronger version of PVA glue which sticks things together and glosses over them to give them a nice, flush finish. This stuff is typically used for decoupage and I had some for another project (details of that coming soon) so I gave it a try.

Again, it was a learning curve –

*Thin coats work best

*Leave each layer to dry before adding another/top coat

*Wash your sponge brushes as soon as you’ve stopped

*Wash you hands thoroughly at random intervals throughout– Modge Podge holds any residue and is easily transferred onto whatever you’re working on

Matching Cards FTW

Matching Cards FTW

I’m really happy with how they turned out. I think they’re quite cute AND they serve a purpose (I love practical things) I also made a few matching cards – Matching items for the win!

I would have liked to have spent more time on the back of them. I cover the wooden frame at the back with sheet burlap to hide any paint drips and basically make them more presentable. The wrapped twine on some of these canvases made them quite bumpy/bulky to cover AND meant some of them needed extra magnets to fill the gap. I tested them all before sealing and they are strong enough to stick on a fridge so that’s something and at least it’s the back that could use some tweaking rather than the front – again it’s another lesson learned.

I have already sold 2 (to a friend but a sale is a sale) and the rest are sealed and on display in the local “gift box” where I volunteer and sell some of my work. Again I forgot to sign them but luckily I have the chance to sneak in and change that on my next shift 🙂

Now I have ‘Superhero’ & ‘Love’ under my belt I will have to get thinking about my next themes to try – Of course I could just follow the usual holidays – Easter, Halloween, Christmas – along with Mardi Gras & St Patrick’s day etc but I need some general ‘year round’ themes too…feel free to comment with ideas 😉

Again, below is a few photos of the process & finished products 🙂

Categories: Crafty Chick | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “What’s love got to do with it?

  1. Well done Sophie, I like the Valentine ones. However, I think your name should be at the back only, as in the example shown above, it sort of dominates the image. (This might be only for copyright purposes on the Internet; if so, forgive me immediately.)
    And Burlap. That’s Hessian isn’t it? Or are you really an American now! (Or don’t they know what Hessian is?) Just joshing…It’s going really well.
    As ever, Pete. XX

    • 🙂 it’s that sack stuff – I don’t know what hessian is ha ha. Yes the words are for copyright/ownership/”MINE” reasons. There are a lot of horror stories in the crafting world, if you don’t smother the finished product with logos and font you’re pretty much committing craft suicide – plus it means anyone who shares it is doing promotion on my behalf 😉 I think it’s a bit silly – especially when I’ve just shown exactly what I’ve done in the “non smothered” ones anyway and anyone who wanted to recreate could do so but it seems there are a lot of people out there who will steal just the photos alone and claim them as their own (sad or what) xx

Say what you think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

